The Commission on Higher Education – Caraga Regional Office (CHED Caraga), held a digital infographics making contest with students of various Caraga Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) on the afternoon of August 19, 2021 via ZOOM Teleconferencing and Facebook Live as part of the activities for the month-long celebration of the 54th Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Founding Anniversary.

Thirteen (13) student participants braved the challenge of creating their infographics within a single afternoon based on the theme, “Padyak! Moving forward, claiming victory for the Philippine Higher Education (PHE) in the ASEAN Community.” The thirteen participants represented the following HEIs: Agusan Colleges Inc. (ACI), Agusan del Sur College Inc. (ADSCO), Andres Soriano College of Bislig (ASCB), Caraga State University – Main (CSU), Caraga State University – Cabadbaran (CSUCC), Don Jose Ecleo memorial Foundation College of Science and Technology (DJEMFCST), Father Saturnino Urios University (FSUU), Merchant Marine Academy of Caraga Inc. (MMACI), Philippine Normal University Mindanao (PNU Mindanao), Saint Michael College of Caraga (SMCC), Saint Paul University Surigao (SPUS), and Surigao State College of Technology Main Campus (SSCT Main).

Tasked with the difficult challenge of choosing the winners out of the thirteen entries to be judged were: Dr. Nora Lanuza-Molde, Information Center Manager at the Agusan del Norte Philippine Information Agency (PIA); Engr. Lawrence Salang, Provincial Officer at the Agusan del Norte Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT); and Dr. Criseldo Calinawan, Education Supervisor II at CHED Caraga.

Participants returned after a one-week wait, as the winners for the competition were announced later in the month during the Culmination Program on August 27, 2021. The resulting winners were as follows: 1st Place with a cash prize of Php 3,000 – Var Jersam L. Malaque of MMACI; 2nd Place with a cash prize of Php 2,000 – Jaylan Daras of DJEMFCST; and 3rd Place with a cash prize of Php 1,000 – Gerald Allen A. Bangero. Two consolation prizes were also awarded with a cash prize of Php 500 each – Karlo D. Amores of SSCT Main, and Calvin John J. Ampo of CSUCC.

The month-long activities for the 54th ASEAN Founding Anniversary ran from August 9 to 27, 2021. See the recorded virtual events at our official website,, or at our official Facebook Page,